Introvert

While I’m writing my next blog post (which is turning out to be a whole lot longer and more intricate than I was planning), here’s a video and a link to an article by Susan Cain on why the world needs introverts. I figure most-if-not-all autistics go in this category. Reading and listening to her words gives me that certain stab of relief that you only get from finally hearing something you have painstakingly wished to hear so many times in the past, yet had to work out for yourself since nobody ever said it.

“All the comments from childhood still ring in my ears, that I was lazy, stupid, slow, boring,” writes a member of an email list called Introvert Retreat. “By the time I was old enough to figure out that I was simply introverted, it was a part of my being, the assumption that there is something inherently wrong with me. I wish I could find that little vestige of doubt and remove it.” http://www.guardian.co.uk/science/2012/mar/13/why-the-world-needs-introverts

Leave a Reply

